FRIDAY QUESTIONNAIRE: Musically Inclined?

I decided that Friday would be the day I stopped to ask you, my readers (if I have any yet), for your opinion.

The question: Do you write books while listening to music? Do you ever read books while listening to songs? If so to either, what kind and why?

As for me, music has become my writing drug. I’m addicted to it.

Give me the right song and in three minutes I can have a completed outline for an awesome new novel, complete with fleshed out characters and climax (true story I’ll tell another time).

As for the kind I listen to, it varies a lot depending on how I feel or what I’m writing about. One minute I could be listening to a remix of Kesha, and the next, a song from Escala. Perhaps after that I’ll take a trip to Korea with Girl’s Generation or change genres to Josh Wilson.

I’ve found, with much trial and error, that nothing can be more stimulating to a mind then a soundtrack to go alongside the images flashing in your mind. And from what I’ve heard, I’m not alone in that regard.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. patrick wiley says:

    I almost always listen to music. I pick it out based on the genre I’m writing.

  2. Michaela says:

    I listen to music while writing and reading. It helps, and I’ve found I can write completely different stories based on types of music that I’m listening to.

Leave a Reply

